Site Facilities: Interstate 80 exit 130, ? mile south of exit.
The sandstone stage station on the south bank of Bitter Creek was built in the summer of 1862 when “Stagecoach King” Ben Holladay moved his stage line south from the Oregon Trail to the Overland Trail because of Indians destroying or marauding the current business site. The Station was attacked by Indians who attempted to burn it, but without much success because of its rock composition. Reportedly, it was also the scene of a robbery committed by the notorious Jack Slade-renegade agent of the Overland Stage Line-in which seven stagecoach passengers were killed.
Point of Rocks, frequently referred to as the “Almond Stage Station” or “Rock Point,” was originally built to accommodate travelers on the Overland State in the early 1860s. Built of local sandstone, the sod-roofed structure also served as a freight station, a store, a school, a ranch headquarters and a private home. After 1868, the station served as the junction of the Overland Trail and the transcontinental railroad while during the 1870s, it was the closest railway station to the South Pass gold mines.
Point of Rocks remained the southern terminus for a local stage line between the railroad and the Sweetwater gold mines, 75 miles, and a 15-hour drive, to the north. When mining activity in the Sweetwater District declined, the station was sold and used as a home. Today the main station building is restored but the stables, once a substantial structure with stalls for four teams, is a sandstone ruin.